WHO AM I?

P1030700

Who Am I?
It’s a question every woman should be asking.
I surely need to know, I cannot tell a lie,
Though the question is tasking.
Could someone please tell me, who am I?

Who am I?
It’s really a question of identity
Who am I?
I need to know I am an entity
Please, I need to know, who am I?

I ask, but my question goes unanswered
I ask other women, but they seem bewildered
I ask men, but what am I thinking?
I must be joking!
I’m sure they’ve also often wondered!

I ask my parents, they say I am a daughter
I ask my teachers, they say I could be a wife or mother
I ask friends, they tell me I am a woman
I will try to be all of these, if I can,
But I am not sure if it’s worth the bother.

Well, I turn to the Feminist,
She tells me I can do all a man can do.
Her answer I cannot resist,
For I know it is true,
Yet, it still does not tell me why I exist

Now, I remember Jesus once asked some,
“Who do men say that I am?”
Some say, “Elijah, John the Baptist or a Prophet come”
“And who do you say that I am”, again Jesus tried.
“You are Christ, the Son of the living God”, Peter replied

So I turn to the One Who created me
To the One Who knows all that I could ever be
I pray, Lord tell me, please set me free
Show me, I pray, what You had in mind,
When You fashioned me after Your kind.

He tells me, it is written in the word of the Lord,
I am a human being, created in the image of God
A human being, reflecting God’s nature, will and power
A human being, reflecting God’s place and authority
A human being, reflecting God’s goodness and purity

I dance, as if to the tune of a fife,
For I carry the female side of God’s nature in my being.
I rise up, now at peace, like a dove,
A human being with God’s ability to nurture and birth life,
A human being with God’s capacity to love!

This is who I am, redeemed by Jesus’ shed blood
A Woman, a human being, created in the image of God
This, indeed, is who I am!!

By
Jennifer Abigail Wallace ©2005
A Woman in Tune, Listening & Obeying

By Apostle Jennifer Abigail Wallace Posted in Articles

Leave a Reply

